

THE InBev-BAILLET LATOUR HEALTH PRIZE - 2016

HISTORICAL BACKGROUND

1. THE FOUNDATION

The ARTOIS-BAILLET LATOUR Foundation was established on the 1st of March 1974 at the initiative of Count Alfred de BAILLET LATOUR, Director of the ARTOIS Breweries, who presented it with a considerable endowment. The aim of the Foundation was defined as follows:

"The sole aim of the Foundation shall be to encourage and reward achievements of outstanding human value in the Arts and Sciences by means of Prizes, study and travel grants, donations in cash or kind, or by any other means that the Foundation might deem appropriate. The Foundation shall be a non-profit institution and shall have no political, trade-union, philosophical or religious affiliation or allegiance".

The Foundation was initially called "Artois Baillet Latour Foundation". In 1995 it became the "Interbrew-Baillet Latour Foundation" and in 2005 the "InBev-Baillet Latour Fund". The Board of Directors became the Management Board. It is chaired by Mr Jan HUYGHEBAERT, Chairman of the Board of Directors of KBC Group.

2. THE PRIZE

To implement the wishes of Count Alfred de BAILLET LATOUR, the Board of Directors of the Foundation decided in 1977 to establish a Prize to be awarded periodically to recognize the merits of a person whose work has contributed prominently to the **improvement of human health**. The Prize was called *ARTOIS*-BAILLET LATOUR HEALTH PRIZE until 1995, then *INTERBREW*-BAILLET LATOUR HEALTH PRIZE and from 2005 on INBEV-BAILLET LATOUR HEALTH PRIZE. This Prize, which today amounts to **two hundred and fifty thousand euros**, was awarded every other year until 1999, and every year since 2000.

Since 2006 the Prize is awarded for one of the following domains of medical research: Infectious diseases (2016), Neurological diseases (2017), Cancer (2018), Cardiovascular diseases (2019), Metabolic disorders (2020).

The regulations of the Prize are approved by the Management Board of the Fund. In 2006, the scientific management and selection of the international Selection Panel of the Prize were delegated to a SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE. This Committee receives administrative support from the Fund for Scientific Research-FNRS (Belgium). Its current composition is as follows: Professors Guy ROUSSEAU (President, de Duve Institute), Jean-Michel FOIDART (Liège University), Louis HUE (Louvain University), Margareta IEVEN (Antwerp University), Stefan P. JANSSENS (Leuven University), Geert LEROUX-ROELS (Ghent University), Isabelle SALMON (Brussels University).

3. PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS

- <u>1979: Sir James W. BLACK</u> (United Kingdom) for contributing to the development of drugs for cardiovascular disorders and gastro-intestinal diseases.
- <u>1981 : Sir Cyril A. CLARKE</u> (United Kingdom) for basic and clinical contributions to the control of Rhesus haemolytic disease of the newborn.
- <u>1983 : Jean BERNARD</u> (France) for contributions to the treatment of acute leukaemias and hematosarcomas.
- <u>1985</u>: <u>Johannes J. van ROOD</u> (The Netherlands) for contribution to the discovery of the genes and antigens of the major histocompatibility complex of man.
- <u>1987 : Viktor MUTT and Tomas HÖKFELT</u> (Sweden) for complementary contributions to the elucidation of neuropeptide function.
- <u>1989: Walter FIERS</u> (Belgium) for contributions to molecular virology and the isolation and expression of lymphokine genes.
- <u>1991 : Thomas WALDMANN</u> (United States of America) for contributions to the use of monoclonal antibodies in diagnosis and immunotherapy.
- <u>1993 : Jean-François BOREL</u> (Switzerland) for discovery of the immuno-suppressive agent cyclosporin.
- <u>1995 : Roger TSIEN</u> (United States of America) for contribution to the discovery of intracellular signals that are critical for the action of hormones, neurotransmitters, mediators of immunity, and growth factors.
- <u>1997</u>: <u>Michael SELA</u> (Israel) for the development of chemically-built peptides that regulate the immune response and of vaccines that could interfere with autoimmune diseases such as multiple sclerosis.
- <u>1999 : Julien MENDLEWICZ</u> (Belgium) for studies on the genetic basis of manic-depressive psychosis and identification of genetically-based disorders of biological rhythms, sleep and hormone secretion.
- <u>2000</u>: <u>Jacques VAN SNICK and Jean-Christophe RENAULD</u> (Belgium) for contributions to the field of cytokines in relation to the regulation of cell proliferation and immune response.
- <u>2001 : Jan D.A. van EMBDEN</u> (The Netherlands) for work on the rôle of heat shock proteins in inflammation and the genetic characterization of Mycobacterium tuberculosis.
- <u>2002 : Robert M. KRUG</u> (United States of America) for the discovery of cap-snatching and its importance in viral replication.
- <u>2003</u>: <u>Nancy C. ANDREASEN</u> (United States of America) for contributions to the identification, mechanisms and treatment of schizophrenia.
- <u>2004 : Elio LUGARESI</u> (Italy) for contribution to the field of sleep disorders and discovery of the rôle of Prion gene mutation in Fatal Familial Insomnia.
- <u>2005</u>: <u>Désiré COLLEN and Peter CARMELIET</u> (Belgium) for pioneering work in genetic engineering, development of recombinant tissue plasminogen activator and generation of animal models of human cardiac diseases.

- <u>2006</u>: <u>Hidde L. PLOEGH</u> (United States of America) for work on how cells eliminate misfolded proteins and how viruses evade immune responses.
- <u>2007 : Peter H. SEEBURG</u> (Germany) for discovery of fundamental mechanisms of neural transmission in the brain.
- <u>2008 : Robert A. WEINBERG</u> (United States of America) for contributions to molecular oncology, including the identification of the retinoblastoma tumor suppressor gene and of mechanisms underlying tumor progression and metastasis.
- <u>2009 : Kari ALITALO</u> and <u>Seppo YLÄ-HERTTUALA</u> (Finland) for contributions in the field of angiogenesis and lymphangiogenesis and their modulation by signaling pathways.
- <u>2010</u>: <u>Stephen O'RAHILLY</u> (United Kingdom) for contributions to our understanding of how alterations in single genes can cause metabolic disorders, especially obesity, in humans.
- <u>2011 : Jean-Laurent CASANOVA</u> (United States of America and France) for work on the identification of genes that predispose to human infectious diseases.
- <u>2012</u>: <u>Gero MIESENBÖCK</u> (United Kingdom) for having pioneered optogenetic approaches to manipulate neuronal activity and to control animal behaviour.
- <u>2013 : Carlo Maria CROCE</u> (United States of America) for his discovery that non-coding RNAs are involved in cancer pathogenesis.
- <u>2014 : Harry C. DIETZ</u> (United States of America) for his contributions to the genetics, pathobiology and medical treatment of Marfan syndrome and other vascular disorders.
- <u>2015</u>: <u>Bruce M. SPIEGELMAN</u> (United States of America) for his contributions to the understanding of adipose tissue function, differentiation and pathophysiology.

24.04.2015